Harassment, stalking or threats may violate Illinois criminal law. Public Act explains further retroactive registration requirements regarding sexual predator offenses, and all offenses which have an exact effective date. Additional information and verification can be obtained from the local law enforcement agency where the sex offender resides. Are sex offenders allowed on school grounds? Register with the local law enforcement agency within 3 days of notification by the Illinois Department of Corrections or the Court; or Register annually; or Register quarterly if applicable ; or Provide complete and accurate information to law enforcement personnel during registration; or Change his or her address or other information without notifying law enforcement personnel. In addition to being Non-Compliant, a person may be listed with a Location Unknown status. Type the code you see in the box on the left into the space below.
It is unlawful for a child sex offender to be present in any school building or property, or loiter within feet of school property without the permission of the superintendent or school board, or in the case of a private school the principal unless the child sex offender is a parent of a child at that school, and the parent is on school grounds for one of the following reasons:.
Frequently Asked Questions
To obtain automatic notification, the individual must notify the Illinois State Police, Sex Offender Registration, South 7th Street, Suite South, Springfield, Illinoisin writing of their request to receive automatic notification. The year registration period will start upon conviction for those offenders sentenced to probation. A sex offender visiting the State of Illinois for more than 3 days in a calendar year will be required to register with the local law enforcement jurisdiction where the sex offender is staying. Applies to a person who committed the offense before June 1, only if the person was incarcerated in the Illinois Department of Corrections on August 20, ; Any attempts to commit any of the offenses listed above; or First Degree Murder of an Adult, when the victim was a person 18 years of age of older at the time of the commission of the offense. An offender who is convicted of a violation of the Illinois Sex Offender Registration Act on or after July 1, is required to register every 90 days for the duration of their registration. What is a Sexual Predator?